I never planned, wanted, or considered dating someone in the military. I thought they were all rude, and I had preconceived notions from my mother, who was in the Marine Corps before I was born. But I was wrong. In dating, and becoming engaged to, Matthew I've become a part of a lifestyle unlike any other. The women are stronger, the men are more polite, and the whole experience is mind blowing. I've become friends with people with who live halfway across the country and who are there for me more than friends at home. Sure our guys have the brotherhood, but the sisterhood is what astounds me. Sure, there are those women that you KNOW are tag chasers and that you just instinctively don't talk to, but there are also those women who are your friends. Age, location, time of day, it doesn't matter. Maybe this is just a mushy post, but I believe that this sisterhood is priceless.
Something that I've noticed happening a lot is civilian friends droping out of my life. They either don't understand or they're just uncaring about what I have to say that has to do with the military. I'm a caring person and I'll sit and listen to other people talk all day long but when I expect the same in return I'm disappointed. I find this funny, because I'm so much closer to my military girls than the people at home who are "best friends". They tell me when I'm upset to go talk to my "girls" and I do. I look at them and say "Wow you're right, they would understand."
Tuesday, May 10, 2011
Monday, April 25, 2011
Updates
Whoo so I haven't posted in about two weeks, and well a lot has happened since that last post. How about I start with the fact that I am now 18????
AH!!!!
I'm so happy.
And
I finally heard from Mister!!!
We got to Skype last monday night
and every morning, except weekends, since.
I am a very happy MJ :)
Skype does hate me though....
And I'm staying on campus this summer!!
Part of a scholarship I got is I have to stay on UTKs campus
ALL SUMMER. But Im not complaining, Im so excited for it!!!
What else? Hmm...Ohhh does anyone know anything about student loans??
If so Id appreciate help :)
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
More changes in the friendship garden
So lately I've decided that I'm tired of being the "maybe" friend. I'm tired of making someone a priority in my life and not having that returned. This girl and I, we'll call her Gingy. She's been what I had considered a best friend for a good 5 years now. The last couple of years we've gone in different social groups. I thought this would be okay. Well I guess I was wrong, because now she only calls on day that she is doing absolutely nothing, and when I ask to hang out she says her mother won't let her and I find out later that she's gone to hang out with other people. I would have no problem with this if she wouldn't call me the next week and wonder why I haven't answered her phone calls. Uhm HELLO. Ugh. I just dont' know if its time to let go of this friendship, or try to hold on to it. I'm leaining towards letting it go. I dont' need this in my life
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
